American Rescue Plan
Act Program Manager

Administration & Finance
Suite 114 
329 Mast Road
Goffstown, NH 03045
Phone: (603) 351-3829

Monday to Friday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM


NEW! Hillsborough County is accepting applications from non-profits that directly experienced a negative health or economic harm as a result of the COVID-19 public health emergency (i.e. reduced fees, costs to implement mitigation tactics).  Under this phase of assistance, interested applicants must provide services within Hillsborough County and be a registered 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(19) organization.  Please refer to the Track One Guidelines for complete details, listed in the documents section below.

Applications are available here Hillsborough County Non-Profit Track One Application and due July 12, 2022.  A reference copy of the application and the Non-Profit Counterfactual Revenue Loss Calculation form may also be found in the documents section below.  (Please do not use Internet Explorer, as content will not display correctly.)


Signed into law in March 2021, the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) is a $1.9 trillion package intended to combat the COVID-19 pandemic, including the public health and economic impacts.  A key provision under ARPA, known as the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (SLFR funds),  provides $350 billion in relief to states and local governments to combat the continued impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.  The United States Department of Treasury (Treasury) published the interim final rule (IFR) on May 10, 2021, through an expedited rule-making process.  The IFR outlines the requirements for CSLFRF and went into effect immediately upon issuance, despite the fact that Treasury is seeking comments on all aspects of the rule.  If warranted by public comments, the IFR may subsequently be modified.

According to the Treasury, the SLRF funds provide eligible local governments with a substantial infusion of resources to meet pandemic response needs and rebuild a stronger, and more equitable economy as the country recovers. Recipients may use these funds to:

•   Support public health expenditures, by, for example, funding COVID-19 mitigation efforts, medical expenses, behavioral healthcare, and certain public health and safety staff

•   ​Address negative economic impacts caused by the public health emergency, including economic harms to workers, households, small businesses, impacted industries, and the public sector

•   Replace lost public sector revenue, using this funding to provide government services to the extent of the reduction in revenue experienced due to the pandemic

•   Provide premium pay for essential workers, offering additional support to those who have and will bear the greatest health risks because of their service in critical infrastructure sectors

•   Invest in water, sewer, and broadband infrastructure, making necessary investments to improve access to clean drinking water, support vital wastewater and stormwater infrastructure, and to expand access to broadband internet

Additionally under ARPA the State will receive a total of $112 million in Local Fiscal Recovery Funds to distribute to New Hampshire non-metropolitan cities and towns (so-called Non-Entitlement Units or NEUs), this includes all NH municipalities except for Dover, Manchester, Nashua, Portsmouth and Rochester – these five cities receive separate SLFR funds allocations directly from U.S. Treasury as metropolitan cities.

 For Towns and Cities who are classified as NEUs please visit the following link on how to apply:  Local Fiscal Recovery Fund Program | Governor's Office for Emergency Relief and Recovery (

Hillsborough County is currently working through the appropriate process to support the pandemic response and lay the groundwork for a strong and equitable recovery under the eligible uses for the funds.  Information regarding how Hillsborough County will proceed with the funds will be posted to this page.  Please check back for updates.

UPDATE: On April 6, 2022, the Board of Commissioners adopted an update to the original Recovery Plan.  The County will post guidelines and an application in the coming weeks for non-profits to apply under Track 1, as described in the Recovery Plan Update.   Please review this document for a description of the first round of assistance to be offered.


Recognizing the need to invest SLRF Funds within the county departments and the community, the Hillsborough County Board of Commissioners has proposed two (2) phases to allocate funding:

Phase I, the Internal Needs Assessment and Allocation

Phase I will address critical priority issues with focus on County department needs in order ensure continuity of public service deliverables are still made during the pandemic and the recovery.  This will be accomplished by focusing on:

  1. Emergent funding for the pandemic response in the County departments.
  2. Funding for strategic investments in County department infrastructure & services.

Phase II, the Community Needs Assessment and Allocation

Phase II will utilize internal and external resources to define the process of distributing funds within the community and define and identify community funding areas within the scope and purview of the responsibilities and functions of Hillsborough County government. A general overview of the process, subject to change and based on staffing resources, is below.

County stakeholders will participate in a facilitated process during the fall to identify potential transformative initiatives within county functions in the community.  This process may involve, public comment at Board of Commissioner meetings, conducted surveys, public hearings and other methods of community engagement.

The process will follow County guidelines with stipulations in place for necessary documentation tracked for reimbursement purposes in compliance with U.S. Treasury Guidelines and Requirements.

Draft Timeline for SLRF Funds

(Confirmation of eligible expenditures will take place on all proposals prior to approval)



Late Summer/Early Fall

Board of Commissioners reviews and considers recommendations on ARPA consultant responses.

Late Summer/Early Fall

Board reviews preliminary department proposals for SLRF Fund expenditures, focusing on pandemic response and strategic investments in County department infrastructure and & services to immediately respond to the pandemic and selects proposals for further development (no allocation decisions).


Proposals that were identified for further development are considered and if approved, move proposals forward to Hillsborough County Executive Committee for consideration and approval; with Hillsborough County Delegation consideration and approval as required by law.


Board defines community funding areas


Develop application/grant process for outside entities to apply for funds.


Community Engagement on community funding areas


Review results of Community Engagement

Late Fall/Early Winter

Board reviews and considers community funding allocations proposals. If approved, move proposals forward to the Hillsborough County Executive Committee for consideration and approval; with Hillsborough County Delegation consideration and approval as required by law.

As the landscape of the pandemic changes, and moving forward from the timeline above, Hillsborough County will revisit the focus under Phase I and Phase II as needed and concurrently as needed.  As a result of a shifting landscape, Hillsborough County’s focus and use of SLFR Funds may change and adapt to the landscape to address or respond to the immediate needs or pivot to the effects that may manifest over months or years and assess how the use of funds would respond to or address the identified needs.



ARPA Documents